Presidential Elections 2022 Results: Droupadi Murmu becomes the first Tribal and second Woman President of India


India has got its 15th President Droupadi Murmu who will succeed the incumbent President Ram Nath Kovind. The presidential elections 2022 took place on 18th of July i.e. Monday in the Parliament House with total of 4796 eligible candidates which included 771 MPs and 4025 MLAs. The counting for ballot voting started earlier on 21st of July in the Parliament house of Delhi in which NDA’s Droupadi Murmu surpassed opposition’s choice Yashwant Sinha by a huge margin. She creates the history and becomes the first tribal and second female President of India after Pratibha Patel.

NDA’s candidate Droupadi Murmu wins in an astounding way as she gets 5,77,777 votes while her opponent Yashwant Sinha got only 2,61,062 votes after the counting of third round.
Droupadi Murmu is 64 and she has served as a minister in Odisha from 2000 to 2004. She has also been the first tribal woman ex Governor of Jharkhand. In 2007 she was awarded with best MLA of the year award – the ‘Nilakantha Award’.
It’s a very proud moment for Odisha and the celebrations have begun in Murmu’s hometown Odisha’s tribal heartland. Her opponent Yashwant Sinha also congratulates her via tweet.

Prime Minister Modi and the leader of BJP reaches the Murmu’s residence to congratulate her.

She made her career in politics by sheer hard work and intelligence. Hence, Droupadi Murmu successfully scripts history by becoming the first tribal women to hold the highest constitutional position in India. The new President will take the constitutional oath on 25th of July.

As Droupadi Murmu becomes the 15th President of the nation, India hopes that she will work unfavourably and will abide by the constitution of India.

Writing credits – Liza Jindal